• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

1oz Geiger bar, real or not?

Ryan AC

Hi, I'm new to silver bars and am a bit suspicious of a Geiger bar I've bought, any help or advice would be much appreciated and if someone has one to compare that'd be even better.

My reasons for suspecting it's not real:

Reeded edge, I haven't seen this on pics of 1oz bars from internet dealers, only seen on larger bars.

No UV markings, or is this only on larger bars?

reverse side is as shiny as front side, I've read it's supposed to be duller.

I'll add a couple pics of it as soon as I get home.

Thanks, Ryan.

Thanks that's good to hear. I didn't think the 1oz's had reeded edges looking at pics but good to know they do, it is nice to have on there. Was worried mainly about having no UV but guess that's just the larger bars and not worth adding to the 1oz bars.

It was an eBay purchase, haven't seen very many and it looked nice so thought It'd be a nice buy. I've bought a few others but I can use weight and dimensions to check usually, just couldn't find any info on the Geiger bars dimensions.