• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

Where should I start?

nummum

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and still need to do a ton of research before I start to invest in gold coins.

For now, it would help me a lot if some of you could point me in the right direction.

I'd like to invest £3000/£4000 or so on gold or silver coins. I've been told that I should invest in both silver and gold, but I have also been told that silver is better for investment purposes. What do you guys think? 

Should I buy gold sovereigns? if so, should I buy new or old sovereigns? 

And is there a book or guide you would recommend so that I can learn faster? Youtube videos and online articles help but that's simply not enough.

Thanks in advance.

It depends on a range of issues, here are a few things to consider: 

1. Storage - silver quickly adds up on storage and takes up a lot of space if you keep buying. If you are storing at home, safes will quickly overflow.