• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

Advice for a total beginner in stocks / shares

OK so as title says I'm just thinking of getting into shares with no real experience at all. 

I'm 33, have a half decent career (34k) and have a few grand saved in the "rainy day fund). I bought my house about 5 years ago and up to now have been battering the money into restoring it. Now it's about finished I've been working on my gold stack, which is up to about 3 grand now. 

Reading the forums over the past few weeks it seems the concensus is "I made money on gold, I retired on shares"... so I thought I'd look into it. 

I'm sorry to just jump in and ask but I come from working class stock, my parents saved and paid their mortgage but never 'invsted' as such, and all my mates live month to month buying cars on finance and flying to ibiza twice a year. I'm trying to do something while I'm still young (ish) enough to make some money on the long game - 10 20 years +.

Do I just buy shares in an isa or am I better off investing another way? Thoughts appreciated!