• The above Banner is a Sponsored Banner.

Upgrade to Premium Membership to remove this Banner & All Google Ads. For full list of Premium Member benefits Click HERE.

• Join The Silver Forum

The Silver Forum is one of the largest and best loved silver and gold precious metals forums in the world, established since 2014. Join today for FREE! Browse the sponsor's topics (hidden to guests) for special deals and offers, check out the bargains in the members trade section and join in with our community reacting and commenting on topic posts. If you have any questions whatsoever about precious metals collecting and investing please join and start a topic and we will be here to help with our knowledge :) happy stacking/collecting. 21,000+ forum members and 1 million+ forum posts. For the latest up to date stats please see the stats in the right sidebar when browsing from desktop. Sign up for FREE to view the forum with reduced ads. 

What If....?

etm42

I am an utter newbie to precious metals, so please pardon what I guess is a naive question:

I can understand the use of PMs to store value and then convert it to cash when needed.  However, many sites and videos dealing with the subject also claim that, if some widespread emergency were to occur, you'll be able to get through the crisis more easily if you have PMs on hand than if you don't.  But that would surely depend on whether anybody accepts PMs as payment.  Maybe the most useful currency might be cigarettes or illegal drugs, in which case you and your PMs are in the same boat as everyone else.  Basically, I am wondering why the Armageddon argument is even made, or should be made.  Is there any reason to expect that, after some huge disaster that involves the destruction of the internet, PMs would sooner or later float to the top as the preferred currency?

Thanks!

The idea is that PMs have throughout history been used as currency across the world.